Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Media Centre

Shamier Anderson & Stephan James To Host The Legacy Awards On CBC And CBC Gem On September 25; Preliminary Performers And Presenters Include Deborah Cox, Kardinal Offishall, Savannah Ré, King Bach, Jully Black, The Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Amanda Parris, Kathleen Newman-Bremang, And More

– Fan choice voting for digital content creators reopens on September 6 –

– David F. Mewa on board as showrunner, Tanisha Scott is the creative director, head choreographer, and co-multi camera director –

TORONTO, September 1, 2022 – Founders of The Black Academy and now hosts of The Legacy Awards, Shamier Anderson and Stephan James, alongside Insight Productions, showrunner David F. Mewa, and CBC today announced the preliminary lineup of presenters and performers for the inaugural edition of The Black Academy’s award show. Many of Canada’s most exciting Black music artists including Jully Black; Deborah Cox; Keysha Freshh; Izzy-S; Kardinal Offishall; SATE; Savannah Ré; and DJ 4KORNERS are set to perform. To date, the presenter lineup includes comedian/actor King Bach, TRH Michaëlle Jean; and media personalities Arisa Cox, Brandon Gonez, Kathleen Newman-Bremang, Amanda Parris, and Odario Williams. The complete lineup of award recipients, performers, and presenters as well as public ticket information will be announced in the coming weeks. The Legacy Awards airs on CBC and CBC Gem on Sunday, September 25, 2022 at 8 p.m. (9 p.m. AT/9:30 p.m. NT). The live 90-minute telecast is the first major Canadian award show to celebrate and showcase Black talent and will be broadcast from Live Nation Canada’s newest entertainment venue HISTORY, in Toronto. The telecast features performances, award presentations, and tributes honouring both established and emerging Black Canadian talent.

“Putting together this celebration of Black Canadian talent is a labour of love and I’m honoured to have been invited to helm this epic undertaking,” said David F. Mewa, Showrunner, The Legacy Awards. “A ton of care and thought has gone into creating the inaugural edition of The Legacy Awards and I think Canadians will be very inspired by what they see. It’s going to be seismic.”

David F. Mewa (CBC Music Backstage Pass; MTV Hip Hop My House; Scott’s Vacation House Rules), the showrunner for The Legacy Awards, has directed long-form live music specials, lifestyle series, branded digital content, and award-winning music videos for major label and indie acts. He has produced, directed, and photographed projects for broadcasters and streamers including CBC, HBO, MTV, HGTV, and PARAMOUNT+. Tanisha Scott is The Legacy Awards’ creative director, head choreographer, and co-multi camera director. Scott is an award-winning creative who has collaborated with Beyoncé, Rihanna, H.E.R., Coldplay, Jay-Z, Lizzo, Cardi B., and many, many more. Jordan Rudder (2022 JUNO Awards; Canada’s New Year’s Eve: Countdown; Canada’s Walk of Fame; Battle of The Blades; Big Brother Canada) is The Legacy Awards’ talent producer. In addition to managing talent relations on behalf of Insight and The Black Academy, Rudder has played an instrumental role on The Legacy Awards working in a variety of capacities since its inception.

Voting for The Legacy Awards’ Digital Creator Fan Choice Award reopens on September 6 and closes Friday, September 23. The Digital Creator Fan Choice Award allows fans to choose their favourite Black-identifying Canadian digital content creators. The winner will be announced during The Legacy Awards on September 25 on CBC and CBC Gem. Visit for more details.

In its inaugural year, The Legacy Awards is a tribute-style award show honouring both established Black Canadian talent and rising stars. Award recipients are decided upon by The Legacy Awards’ Advisory Committee comprised of industry specialists in music, film, TV, and pop culture and The Black Academy. In subsequent years, nominees and award recipients will be decided by members of The Black Academy. Information about award categories for The 2023 Legacy Awards, membership, and the submission process will be announced in the coming months.

The Legacy Awards is executive produced by Shamier Anderson and Stephan James of The Black Academy and Bay Mills Studios. John Brunton, Lindsay Cox, and Shannon Farr are the executive producers for Insight Productions (A Boat Rocker Company); David F. Mewa is the showrunner; Tanisha Scott is the creative director, head choreographer, and co-multi camera director; Jordan Rudder is the talent producer. Daniel Abrams and Norbert Abrams also serve as executive producers. For CBC, Sally Catto is General Manager, Entertainment, Factual & Sports and Jennifer Dettman is Executive Director, Unscripted Content. The 2022 edition of The Legacy Awards marks the first of an exclusive three-year partnership with CBC.